Pearls of the Lublin region, part 3
Włodawa – the city of three cultures Włodawa, lying on the Polish-Belarusian border, obtained city rights as early as 1534. Since then, the city developed as a commercial center, inhabited not only by Poles, but also by the Ruthenian population, Jews, Czechs, Germans and Armenians. The historic church under the invocation of st. Ludwika, the Church of the Nativity of the Most Holy Mother of God and the Great Synagogue from the 18th and 19th centuries. Just outside the city, there is a border of three countries – Poland, Belarus and Ukraine, and an attractive lake – Lake Białe, one of the cleanest in our country. It is worth going to Włodawa in July, when the Festival of Three Cultures takes place in the city, commemorating the Ruthenian, Polish and Jewish people living in these areas.
Chełm – chalk mines In the area of today’s Chełm, settlement has existed since the beginning of our era. From the beginning of its existence, the city was situated in the borderland, which is clearly visible in its history, but also in religion and preserved sacred monuments. Over the centuries, Chełm was an Orthodox, Greek Catholic and Roman Catholic bishopric. There was also a Jewish community here. The Chalk Labyrinth is the undoubted attraction of the city. Chełm’s underground runs under the entire Old Town and is a remnant of the mining of rich chalk deposits. To this day, a section of the mine with unique forms of chalk karst and a relief of an eagle has been preserved. In 1944, the mine was entered into the register as a third-class monument, a unique remnant of Old Polish and Cretaceous mining in Europe. It is also worth visiting the Basilica of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary and Góra Chełmska, otherwise known as the Cathedral Mountain. Krasnystaw – the Jesuit monastery The Jesuit monastery complex is the most important monument in the city. The building in the baroque style was built in the years 1695-1717. A Jesuit college was established there, which underwent a major renovation in 2008. The monastery also includes the former bishop’s palace and the buildings of the former seminary and vicariate.
Zamość – the pearl of the Renaissance The city, entered on the UNESCO World Heritage List, was founded as a private town in 1580 by Jan Zamoyski. It presents so many attractions and architectural treasures that it could be the hero of this text, divided into several parts. Zamość was built on the plan of an ideal Renaissance city designed by Bernardo Morando. The city quickly became the seat of the third university in Poland. Zamość is a relatively small city, but due to its rich history, you will find here a wide range of attractions. Both when it comes to gems of sacred and secular architecture. The fact that most of Zamość’s attractions is located in a relatively small area is a great help for tourists. This is conducive to exploring and looking into various nooks and crannies, where you will find testimonies of bygone times. The most important objects, which cannot be missing from the list, are the Lwowska Gate, the Fortress, the Roman Catholic Church of St. Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary, the Market Square with the Town Hall, the Armenian Tenement Houses and the Zamoyski Palace with the monument to the city’s founder. It is also worth visiting the Arsenal museum of weapons and fortifications and the city park, where the Old Lublin Gate stands.